Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Suggestions on scanning please...

When scanning a coin, what resolution setting do you use?

I don't have a digital camera, yet, and I want to add (nice quality) images to my Registry sets. I would like the images to be a nice size, 4 - 6 inches on the monitor. The images have to be 50kb or less also.

I'll check back later. Have to go to another Thanksgiving dinner. image I don't know how much more of this I can take. Maybe I'll skip the turkey and go right to desert. image

Thanks in advance for the tips.
Dan

Comments

• Options
    Stman has been getting some great results in this thread.

Also try a search using the words scanning or just scan. Loads of info in the past.
    "DragonAzz doesn't strike me as a nutcase." clw54 06/18/06

The good thing about having multiple personalities is that there's always a designated driver.

Yes, I'm an agent of Satan but my duties are largely ceremonial.
  • Options
    Set your pixels for 272 to 305...go to image size after you've scanned....change to the above pixel size....save as....and you BE DONE
    What is money, in reality, but dirty pieces of paper and metal upon which privilege is stamped?
  • Options
    I use either 200 or 300 DPI. Sometimes with slabs, I tilt one side with a floppy disc ( maybe two opposite sides but not often ) using floppies that I don`t consider any good in case of possible electromagnetic damage to the floppy. Raw in 2x2 flips, I usually leave flat on the bed. Sometimes I might tilt it with a dime but, usually just flat on the bed. With my scanner, and I assume with other scanners too, you`ll be able to adjust the size of the scan if you choose to do so.
  • Options
    stmanstman Posts: 11,352 ✭✭✭✭✭