Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

$5.00 Registry Set Trials and Tribulations

I am new to Collectors Universe, just finished my first registry set of certified coinage. I had trouble entering one certification number and after several days just noticed the reasons for my trouble. The 1999-W Stk w/Unfinished PR Dies coin that I tried to register has an error in the heading (states Eagle - instead of 1999-W) and an error in the coin certification # (states E9939.69/21310752 - instead of the normal E99940.69/XXXXXXXX) does this discrepancy (PCGS error of an error) make the coin worth more than the regular normal Stk w/Unfinished PR Dies. O' by the way I used another 1999-W from another partial set I have to register my very first set with PCGS. Thanks for any input. Jim
Jim Chandler

Comments

• Options
    fcloudfcloud Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭
    Hey JimC,

Welcome to the boards.

I think you are correct--the reason the coin doesn't fit is because it is an error. If there is a set with varieties, it would go there. I'm not a gold collector, so I am not sure on the added value.

Someone should know.

Tony

President, Racine Numismatic Society 2013-2014; Variety Resource Dimes; See 6/8/12 CDN for my article on Winged Liberty Dimes; Ebay

• Options
    JimC,

Welcome! I have the same initials JC. Of a matter of fact I' also Jim C.
    Constellatio Collector sevenoften@hotmail.com
    ---------------------------------
    "No Good Deed Goes Unpunished!"
    "If it don't make $"
    "It don't make cents""
  • Options
    Hi JinC,

Welcome aboard.

The coin number 9939 is for the standard 1999 $5 GAE. If the coin is actually an MS error with the "W" on the obverse then I would have to think it was just a labeling error and PCGS should fix it.

I do know that if you submit the MS 99-W error for grading at PCGS using the number from the regular "coin lookup" that they don't mention the error on the slab.