Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

lincoln experts: is this 1911 or 1920-s cleaned (reposted with pics) --- RESULTS POSTED

Hi guys,

Came across these 2 coins in my collection. I'm not 100% sure they have
not been cleaned. The '20-s obv looks natural to me, but the rev looks a
little too "bright" or "wrong color"?

The 11 reverse looks awesome (is it too awesome? Looks like the proper color?) and the
obverse of the '11 looks a little suspicious to me.

Opinions? I'm not an expert, and would rather not wait a month and spend
the money to have bodybags!

It's strange that only 1 side of either coin seems a little suspect, and the other
side of each coin I'd say looks good.

help me image

tstone@ida.org

thanks
tim

Comments

• Options
    The 1911 from the Pic looks fine but the 20-S has, IMO from the pic been polished at one point. Remember however that how RED a coin is or how much tone it has developed will affect the grade. The 1911 may not grade as high as you think because of this.

• Options
    coinguy1coinguy1 Posts: 13,485
    Tim, it's really hard to tell for sure from the pics. But, the 1911 looks like it might be ok,while the 20-S does NOT look original to me.
  • Options
    I agree. Especially the reverse on the 20.
  • Options
    merz2merz2 Posts: 2,474
    The lack of luster on the 20-S and the color difference around the date and letters on OBV says cleaned to me.
    Don
    Registry 1909-1958 Proof Lincolns
  • Options
    LincolnCentManLincolnCentMan Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭✭
    Looks like we are all in agreement. To me, the 11 is origional. I have no doubt that the 20S has been messed with.

David
  • Options

Thanks guys.

I'll send the '11 in to PCGS and the 20-s either to ICG or maybe I'll just spend it image

(To show I don';t know what I'm doing here, the color difference around the
    date and letters on the '20-s to me was an indication it hadn't been cleanded.