Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Nice Cameo Proof Indian Head Cent

Just learning how to take pictures with my digital camera & here's my 1st attempt. Note that coin is mark free, the smutzy marks are on the holder or light reflection. NOTE: I'm very new at this - so my apologies for the so-so quality of the photo.

IF you'd like give me your "grade" for this coin, later in the week I'll post what it is.

Collecting eye-appealing Proof and MS Indian Head Cents, 1858 Flying Eagle and IHC patterns and beautiful toned coins.

“It ain't what you don't know that gets you into trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so.” Mark Twain
Newmismatist

Comments

• Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,218 ✭✭✭✭✭

Explore collections of lordmarcovan on CollecOnline, management, safe-keeping, sharing and valuation solution for art piece and collectibles.
  • Options
    coinlieutenantcoinlieutenant Posts: 9,305 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Looks pretty good for the first pics.

I cant offer too much advice as I am still learning.

Lighting is key.... Try outdoors at dawn or dusk, especially on a cloudy or foggy day.

John
  • Options
    darktonedarktone Posts: 8,437 ✭✭✭
    Looks like a super nice coin. The pictures need to be a little brighter though but for your first try you did pretty good. mike image
  • Options
    EvilMCTEvilMCT Posts: 799 ✭✭✭
    Nice looking coin and you've got a better picture than I can get out of my old camera.

Ken
    my knuckles, they bleed, on your front door
  • Options
    That looks like my kind of IHC!!!

Are you using a camera stand or tripod? I find I just can't hold my camera still enough so always use a tripod...
  • Options
    LakesammmanLakesammman Posts: 17,294 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Nice pics for your first attempt! Proofs are really hard to capture nicely. If you figure out how to do it, let me know.

Looks like a 66 or 67R.