Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

crossover advice needed: PLEASE HELP

I WANTED TO PURCHASE A SGC CARD FROM A DEALER THAT IS A SGC 92 AND I WANTED TO SEND THE CARD TO PSA TO HAVE IT CROSSED
TO PSA AS A PSA8(NQ) HOWEVER I'M CONCERNED THAT IF I PURCHASE THIS SGC 92 CARD AND HAVE IT SENT TO PSA, THAT IT MIGHT NOT
MEET THE PSA8(NQ) GRADE. I WANTED TO FIND OUT IF ANYONE HAS HAD OR HEARD OF ANY COLLECTORS WHO HAVE SENT TO PSA A SGC92
GRADED CARD AND HAD IT COME BACK LESS THAN A PSA8(NQ). THE CARD I'M INTERESTED IN PURCHSING IS OVER 1500.00 U.S. AND DON'T
WANT TO TAKE THE RISK SINCE I HAVE NO EXPERIENCE IN COSSING CARDS OVER TO THE OTHER GRADING COMPANIES. IF ANYONE COULD
HELP ME REGARDING THIS MATTER I WOULD GLADLY APPRECIATE IT. AM I TAKING A BIG RISK IN PURCHASING THIS SGC92 CARD AND HAVING
IT CROSSED TO PSA WITH THE HOPES THAT IT WILL GRADE A PSA8(NQ)., OR IS IT POSSIBLE FOR A SGC 92 GRADED CARD TO GET A PSA7.
PLEASE LET ME KNOW. THANK YOU.

REGARDS

THEODORE

Comments

• Options
    I have 'crossed' an SGC 92 that became a PSA 9 but I cracked it out of SGC holder first and sent it in
    as a raw card. But my experience will have little bearing on your card....SGC is a pretty tough grader in
    their own right. Once you have the card in your possession, you can determine (with 10x magnification) if it will have a decent chance at an 9 or if it will come back an 8. SGC would have had to miss something major for it to fall from a 92 to a PSA 7.
    The first person in the PSA universe to complete the 1969 OPC
    Hockey set! Always looking to buy, trade or upgrade 1966 Topps to 1969 OPC.
  • Options
    I cross sgc to psa all the time. I find centering is only issue sgc much easier on centering but just as tough if not harder on corners. I have had many upgrades on 92,s to psa 9 like was just stated by tripoli look for yourself before sending it in. but if centering is good a 92 to at least a psa 8 should be no trouble at all. AND PLEASE LOSE THE CAPS THANKS