Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Long time lurker, second time poster... A friendly hello!

To All:

I've lurked on this board for around a year now, and posted once a few months ago (long enough ago that I don't even remember WHAT I posted). Anyway, I really enjoy this message board, and have learned a lot just by reading some of the posts here.

I've been collecting since 1983, with an extended break in the early 90's while in college. I've never been much of a "vintage" collector, so this board has taught me considerably on some of the older issues.

I've decided to do a 1973 Topps set, as that is my birth year, and I've always for some strange reason liked the 73's. I've been working on it for three months or so, and I'm at about 10% complete. I'm working with a pretty limited budget (as I'm working on some other sets -- see below), so I'm looking to do the set in mostly PSA 8, but I'm okay taking commons in PSA 7 if they look good. I certainly won't compete for a top spot with the likes of Wetzel, Castaldi, and others, but I'll have fun with my set and will enjoy showing it off to others. Despite that, I had some fun competing with Castaldi on a few PSA 8 commons a couple of Sundays ago!

As part of my desire to continue collecting some of the more current issues, I'm doing refractor sets in 2002 Bowman Chrome (football and baseball) and 2002 Topps Pristine (football and baseball), in addition to the 2002 Bowman Chrome Xfractor set. I've always liked the looks of the refractors and xfractors, and I think they look even better in PSA holders! I haven't submitted much out of these sets, but I'll be doing so in the next few months.