Home U.S. Coin Forum

Do the flips you buy from PCGS contain PVC?

I need some 2 1/2 X 2 1/2 flips to submit coins in are the PCGS ones PVC free or should i go somewhere else and get some?

Comments

• hughesm1hughesm1 Posts: 778 ✭✭
    From what I understand, the flips provided in the submission kit do contain PVC.

I've never submitted to PCGS, but I don't think they would have any heartburn with non-PVC flips.
    Mark
  • nwcsnwcs Posts: 13,386 ✭✭✭
    You can request saflips from them specifically and they do not contain pvc. That is what I did.
  • byergobyergo Posts: 586
    I'm no chemistry expert, but it seems very unprofessional for PCGS to supply collectors with PVC flips.
    Buy/Sell/Trade Rainbow Morgans
  • MadMartyMadMarty Posts: 16,697 ✭✭✭
    Now if you submit a coin to PCGS in a flip they provide, and it gets bagged for PVC damage, and the flips type provided damaged the coin. Are they responsible?
    It is not exactly cheating, I prefer to consider it creative problem solving!!!

• nuckleheadnucklehead Posts: 1,500

<< <i>Now if you submit a coin to PCGS in a flip they provide, and it gets bagged for PVC damage, and the flips type provided damaged the coin. Are they responsible? >>

Yes,I would think so.They should promote the use of Safeflips.
    Friends are Gods way of apologizing for your relatives.
  • Conder101Conder101 Posts: 10,536

<< <i>Now if you submit a coin to PCGS in a flip they provide, and it gets bagged for PVC damage, and the flips type provided damaged the coin. Are they responsible? >>

No. because how can you prove it wasn't already PVC damaged before you put it in the flips?
  • rwhiterwhite Posts: 326
    I'm no chemistry expert, but it seems very unprofessional for PCGS to supply collectors with PVC flips.

I've got to disagree here. PVC flips used for short term storage (i.e. a few months) wont damage MOST coins.
    -Ryan-
  • ms70ms70 Posts: 13,953 ✭✭✭✭✭