Home U.S. Coin Forum

Lincoln error experts - 1970S Small Date????

OK, armed with my cherrypicker's guide, I'm going through some mint sets I bought on the bay of e. They were all opened, so I didn't expect much. So far, I found this puppy:

It seems to meet the two Cherrypicker's diagnostics: weak Liberty (very!) and level 7 and 0.

But, I'm no expert, to say the least. Any thoughts on this? Any better pictures of a real small date 1970S?

Maurice
Lurking with intent to loom

Comments

• wayneherndonwayneherndon Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭
    Try this.

WH
  • wayneherndonwayneherndon Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭
    PS: The picture is not that close up but it looks like a small date to me.
  • Thanks for the reminder about your site... I should check it more often. Very informative.. it's nice of you to provide such a service.

I try to buy from you whenever I can, btw, just because I like your newsletter and your site.. image

I think it's worth sending in, if only for the educational value. I'll get a better close up.
    Maurice
  • ShamikaShamika Posts: 18,776 ✭✭✭✭
    Technically, I don't think the 1970-S Small Date is an error.

I believe it is a variety.

Buyer and seller of vintage coin boards!
  • You are right.. I should at least get the nomenclature right. image

OK, here's some close ups.

Maurice
  • RampageRampage Posts: 9,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Looks like a SD to me, too.

Rampage.
  • NJCollectorNJCollector Posts: 199 ✭✭
    Isn't the key to determining the small vs large 1970-S to look at the bottom of the & and see how far down it extends?
  • Cherrypicker's guide says the top of the 7 and 0 should be level, and LIBERTY should be faded.
    That's as much as I know... I'm still very much a novice w.r.t varieties
    Maurice
  • cladkingcladking Posts: 28,531 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The RTY of LIBERTY is usually weakly struck. There are a few exceptions to this
    and of course many of the large dates will be weakly struck. Placement of the