Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Partly Creamy Kennedys and polished Morgans

I'm new to coin collecting (recently inherited Grandfather's collection) but have been reading as much as I can.

I have a several rolls of uncirc. '64 Kennedy's. I looked at them closely with a 10x loop, and can't make out any scratches or nicks on the majority of them. For the most part they are blast white, with a little cream discoloration creeping on to most of them. What I'm wondering is: will the discoloration affect there value, and what causes this discoloration? I sent one in to PCGS just so I could get an idea of the grade, but don't expect it back for another month.

Second part: I now have many beautiful Morgan dollars, but 10-20 of them have been polished. Are these totally worthless now? One would be a huge loss. It was stored in a type coins of the 20th century picture frame, and has developed terrific blue and gold toning on the reverse, but the front was polished to a shiny silver. Full detail is still visible, but the coin no longer has a cartwheel effect.

I've been reading these forums for about a month now, and would appreciate anyone's expert advice.
Successful transactions with: goldman86, dmarks, CoinFame, segoja, commoncents05, wondercoin, Dabigkahuna, Levinll, RNCHSN, MrOrganic, Type2, ModernCoinMart, alohagary, BECOKA, guitarwes, rbf, fishteeth, freechance, agentjim007, PQPeace, Russ, GSAGuy

Comments

• Options
    krankykranky Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭
    Welcome to the boards, Bothuwui, and welcome to the wonderful hobby of coin collecting.