Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Amazing toned morgan

what do you think about this morgan? The pic is just a scan, so the dark orange is really more orange-gold with red in real life, but the picture is otherwise accurate.

Retail coin dealers, the only people who can buy a $10 coin for $2, and sell it for $30.

Comments

• Options
    FC57CoinsFC57Coins Posts: 9,140
    Looks very yummy! Congratulations! image
  • Options
    I was wondering, does it seem AT'ed or is it natural (i have no idea)?
    Retail coin dealers, the only people who can buy a $10 coin for $2, and sell it for $30.
  • Options
    dragondragon Posts: 4,548 ✭✭
    Very hard to make out from your pic, but has the look and telltale signs of an AT'd coin.

dragon
  • Options
    what are the telltale signs (sorry but im a newbie in the field of toning)
  • Options
    Dog97Dog97 Posts: 7,875 ✭✭✭
    Reverse?
    Change that we can believe in is that change which is 90% silver.
  • Options
    the reverse is untoned
  • Options
    dragondragon Posts: 4,548 ✭✭
    carter,

Those colors of deep gold and that slightly flourescent gunmetal blue/green on the high points are typical colors that show up on AT'd pieces, as well as the way the color sits on that coin and around the periphery and deep recesses especially. It also looks to have severe rim damage of some type from your pic.

dragon
  • Options
    Thanks for the help (good thing i got this for only $13). The "severe rim damage" that you speak of is probably just the light reflecting off the mylar as I see very little damage on the actual coin.
  • Options