Home U.S. Coin Forum

Are There Any Morgan Years That Do Not Come Rainbow Toned?

braddickbraddick Posts: 23,786 ✭✭✭✭✭
I don't believe I've seen nor heard of a 1893-S with rainbow colors or bag color. Are there other years that are either impossible to locate or nearly so?
I know the 84-O; 80-S, and 81-S are the most common.
Which Morgan years are the most difficult to locate with that stunning, rainbow color?
1921's? Others?

peacockcoins

Comments

• WWWWWW Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭
    1878 CC's are fairly tough to come by with true rainbow toning.
  • FC57CoinsFC57Coins Posts: 9,140
    89 P is supposedly a tough date to get in nicely toned condition - I sent one to GSAGUY and even he didn't have one.

Frank
  • FrattLawFrattLaw Posts: 3,290 ✭✭
    I'm no Morgan expert, but I think the 1921s are very difficult to find with nice rainbow colors, or really any pretty attractive toning for that matter.

Strat has a couple of really nice 1921s with color. I have 3 1921-Ps but none are high grade or monster colors, but they do have nice color.

Michael
  • jomjom Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>Are There Any Morgan Years That Do Not Come Rainbow Toned? >>

Not if you have a good supply of chemicals and an Easy Bake Oven. image

jom
  • rwhiterwhite Posts: 326
    Yeah.. there are lots of dates that are tough.. 81-o, 88-s, 91-o, 93-s, 01-s, 21 and about 4 dozen others!
    -Ryan-
  • My 93-S (NGC F-12) has some real nice blue toning in the legends and other areas...but not real bold and not rainbowish...
  • TONEDDOLLARSTONEDDOLLARS Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭✭
    I truely hope not. I am building a date and mint set of nicely toned Morgans. I need 26 dates out of a possible 107. I have some of the dates mentioned that are tuff. 81-o, 89, 21, 91-o etc. I do not however have a 93-s as of yet. I did see one in someones collection a 64 I think that wonderful color, way out of my league.
  • GilbertGilbert Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭
    Braddick,