Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

HELP PLEASE! (Appraising Estate Lot)

To make a long story short, I just got a call from my mother. Her neighbor's father died. He was an 88-year-old Antiques Dealer. Among his posessions were a number of old coins. My mother told her neighbor that I would love to go through them for her and give her an estimated worth and possibly an outlet to sell them. I've never been one to admit I'm in way over my head, but I've never done anything like this before and have no idea where to begin. I haven't seen the lot yet, but according to my mom, he has them separated in coffee cans by denomination. So, I'm assuming we're talking about lots of coins.

My question - Has anybody done this before? Is there a nice, methodical approach? Can I realistically expect to find anything of value?
Just My 2 Cents,
Big Mike <><

Let your roots grow down into him and draw up nourishment from him, so you will grow in faith, strong and vigorous in the truth you were taught. Let your lives overflow with thanksgiving for all that he has done. --Colossians 2:7

Comments

• Options
    JulianJulian Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭
    Just pick up a Blue Book and do your best. If you run in to some items that you are not familiar with, you can check further for them.

You will probably have a lot of wheaties, buffaloes, etc., and you can figure out where to sell them. Your local dealer would be happy to buy most anything. I know that I am happy to purchase any/all resaleable numismatic items.
    PNG member, numismatic dealer since 1965. Operates a retail store, also has exhibited at over 1000 shows.
    I firmly believe in numismatics as the world's greatest hobby, but recognize that this is a luxury and without collectors, we can all spend/melt our collections/inventories.

eBaystore
  • Options
    krankykranky Posts: 8,709 ✭✭✭