Home U.S. Coin Forum

Question to coin grading EXPERTS

ERER Posts: 7,345
How can you assign a grade to a 200 year-old coin, or even older coins? How do you know what those coins look like when they were first struck?
Take the 1776 Continental Currency, for example, graded PCGS MS64. How do you know if it's not MS68? or MS62?
I'm not kidding. This actually a serious question. Thanks.

Comments

• I'm not an expert, but it would seem to make sense to grade the coin based on the current condition, not on the history. We don't care what could have been, we care what is, IMO.image
    K

Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the
    moments that take our breath away.
  • greghansengreghansen Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭
    Not as hard as you might imagine. First, many times prime examples of early dates exist to provide a comparison standard of excellence. Secondly, we know what type of equipment was used to produce the coins so we have reasonably good knowledge as to what type of quality could be produced under optimal conditions. We know a fair amount about planchlet preperation and metal content of the planchlets, amount of pressure utilized, etc. I'm sure there's lots more, but if you think about it, there are lots of items that provide indirect evidence of what a freshly minted coin 200 years ago would have looked like. Plus, current grading practices focus more on establishing a value range for the coin and is less concerned with assessing a precise state of preservation.

Greg Hansen, Melbourne, FL Click here for any current EBAY auctions Multiple "Circle of Trust" transactions over 14 years on forum

• ER,
    To begin with, a competent serivce will have an expert in say, Continental Currency, take a look. After you have handled
    enough high quality old stuff, you get a feel for what the coin is. You will even begin to learn how the mint struck coins