Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Explain DMPL

labloverlablover Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭✭✭
How does a coin aquire the DMPL qualities. I've heard it's because the coin was one of the first ones struck. And, therefore, gain a proof like quality. Is this correct.
"If there are no dogs in Heaven, then when I die I want to go where they went." Will Rogers

Comments

• Options
    Cam40Cam40 Posts: 8,146
    I think it has more to do with the way the dies are made.But dont quote me on that.Unless I,m right ofcourse.
  • Options
    littlewicherlittlewicher Posts: 1,822 ✭✭
    PCGS currently only applies it to Morgan Dollars, I think. PL has to have mirrors, not sure how much, though. DMPL has even more mirrors then the PL, plus I think there has to be contrast. I'm not an expert or anything.

For some life lasts a short while, but the memories it holds last forever.
    -Laura Swenson

In memory of BL, SM, and KG. 16 and forever young, rest in peace.
  • Options
    nwcsnwcs Posts: 13,387 ✭✭✭
    A DMPL is quite simply the finish on a coin that was one of the first strikes from a die that has been highly polished. The designation only refers to Morgans right now, but there are other coins with a similar surface. If I recall right, only about 50-100 strikes from a very well polished die are DMPL, then it transitions into PL and then into frosty luster (from die erosion). Of course, things can interfere. For example, after a day's work, the dies are put up. The next day they may not match the same set of dies for striking new coins. SO you can have a PL on one side and frosty on the other. And when a die gets to being frosty, they can be polished back up to being prooflike.
  • Options
    littlewicherlittlewicher Posts: 1,822 ✭✭
    NGC is starting to designate all coins PL and DMPL for those that apply. I think that's kind of cool.

For some life lasts a short while, but the memories it holds last forever.
    -Laura Swenson