Home PCGS Set Registry Forum

Hey Merc heads & dealers, Houston Money Show report

I went to the Houston Money show today. Got there around noon. About half of the dealers were gone, and half of the rest were packing. Give me a break guys, the show was supposed to be open until 3:00PM. I do not understand these dealers. Fly 1500 miles, hotels, meals, table expenses, it cost a darned lot of money per hour to set up at a show. Why leave early. There are guys like me who couldn't make it until noon on Sunday. (Work on Friday, 7 year old son's make up birthday party on Saturday) I do shows for a living(not coin), and let me tell you, I never pack until they run the public out of the show & even then I take my time. There have been times I have done $10,000.00-$15,000.00 after the show closed, just to other dealers who have been too busy to shop. Even spent an hour unpacking once to find a $3,500.00 item for a dealer.

Needless to say, the show was somewhat of a dissappointment to me. I went with 2 pockets full of money, and came home the same way. Found a nice PCGS 39-D in 67FB that I bought(Ken, you will like this one, nice toning image), found a nice PCGS 35-D MS65FB, but the dealer wanted $125.00 over grey sheet for it. I offered $50.00 over, not only did he decline, he was snooty and rude to boot. Saw a real nice PCGS 28-D in 65FB for $2,000.00. Finally decided to up the ante and went back to buy it, and the dealer was gone! Saw a nice PCGS 20-S in 65 no bands for $390.00 which I probably should have bought but didn't. Not much good early stuff in full bands, not much early stuff period that I saw.

It was funny, lots of ACG stuff on the front row of the show, but really no where else. Lots and lots of raw stuff, I looked at a few things, bought a nice AU58 1920-S for my raw set.

Did not get to meet anyone from the boards, which was a real dissappointment.