Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

Low Population 9 and 8 Philosophy

I am new to the message boards and new to collecting a PSA graded set (1970 Topps Baseball). My goal is to collect the best set I can in either PSA 8 or 9 that I can (can I ever hope to have just one 10?).

My question to the regular corps that has more knowledge and experience is this: When there are certain cards that have either a very low population 9 (say 5 or less) or none at all, and a very low 8 population (also 5 or less), is it better to look to snap up the 8s or wait it out to see if more 9s will appear in the future. My concern is that there may never be any more 9s (given competition even if a few more do appear) and that other collectors may feel the same that I do and settle for those 8s, if available, to complete their set collection as they near completion of the set.

The reason I ask is that I seem to get the feeling from board discussions, that many believe that there are a fairly significant amount (althoguh no one is able to predict) of ungraded cards that could receive high grades, when submitted, if they do indeed exist in someones hoard.

I appreciate your thoughts and feelings on this topic. I have not seen this question asked before. I apologize if it has.

Thanks
Chuck
Chuck

Comments

• Options
    Chuck,

Welcome! Very good question. Is there any particular year or set because the answer would probably vary depending on what you're collecting.

Wayne
    1955 Bowman Football
  • Options
    Wayne,
    Thanks for the welcome. Yes, to answer yoru question, a 1970 Topps Baseball set. My favorite year! The year I staretd to collect cards as a kid.

Chuck
    Chuck
  • Options