Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

Franklin Mint State Registry Questions !

I am thinking about starting a Mint State Franklin set. Maybe 65fb and up.
I have a full set of Raw coins I have had in a folder for years to start with.
What would it cost to have a top 10 or top 5 set ?
How about the # 1 set ?
I see the values in the Greysheet for 65fb coins,but nothing for 66-68's.
Just wondering.
I am trying to decide between 32-64 Wash quarters,or Franklins.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Larry
Larry Shapiro Rare Coins - LSRC
POB 854
Temecula CA 92593
310-541-7222 office
310-710-2869 cell
www.LSRarecoins.com
Larry@LSRarecoins.com

PCGS Las Vegas June 24-26
Baltimore July 14-17
Chicago August 11-15

Comments

• Options

Larry, I'm no expert here (Sorryimage!), but here are somethings to remember with Franklins:

1. It is usually much easier and cheaper to find most dates in 65FBL and 66FBL with full mint set toning. Personally, I don't care much for the dark toned coins, but those are usually the cheapest. It can be VERY difficult to find pure white coins of some dates in top grade. I don't know if this concerns you or not.

2. To get a really top set, you will probably need a 53-S in FBL. Of course, this is very expensive compared to even a much higher grade in non-FBL (PCGS lists a 65FBL at $15000, a 66 Non at $325), and people have commented that even the FBL versions aren't usually real strong FBL, so you will have to decide which way to go there.

Occasionally, you can get great bargains on Franklins in 65FBL/66FBL on coins that are moderately toned. I got a PCGS 65FBL common date under $30 once (so these dates you probably want at least a 66FBL!).

I rarely ever see MS67s for sale, but I notice several of the top sets do have them, so they are out there, but I have no clue about the cost.

Ready for Long Beach?

JJacks