Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Newbie looking for guidance

All,
I am new to this coin collecting, and from what I see and feel, its more of an obsession, than a hobby. Besides, my son absolutely adores the state quarters, so I'm in it more for him, but I realize the upside of the quarters will be somewhat limited, unless I can manage to put together a top ten set. I've since begun collecting the state quarters ( yeah I know how most of you guys feel about the state quarters, but I'm a newbie, so be kind ), again its an issue of availability and prices. I am about 80 % done with the quarters, and have, what I would consider a top ten registry set, and from the point averages, at my current pace, I will have one in the top 5, but we'll see. I'd like a little input from the guys who have been doing this for years, the next area I like is the Franklin Halves, but I'm not sure if its possible to put together a top ten set. Is this possible? I don't have really deep pockets, but I can steadily afford to invest. What markets do you guys see as undervalued at present, as I am going to put some of my retirement ( less than 10%) into some of these coins, and perhaps, for a 12 - 14 year return, I will put some of my son's college money into these as well, its just that I want to get some advice from the guys that know. What is the best way to go about acquiring these coins, auctions?, establish a relationship with a dealer?, ebay?
Thanks, for putting up with my long-windedness,
Kevin

Comments

• Options