Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Anyone got the skinny on Global Certification Svcs.?

A newbie who's beginning to see the Darkness nevertheless hasn't gotten slabbing out of his system and was inquiring about GCS. Anybody familiar with their service and grading standards?
Askari

Come on over ... to The Dark Side! image

Comments

• Options
    lathmachlathmach Posts: 4,720
    One of the owners is Tom Mulvaney. Tom is a professional photographer and owns an auction service. He conducts coin auctions right along.
    I'd guess he's the one who'll be doing the photos for the slabs.
    He's a long time member of the Liberty Seated Collectors Club and provides free Photographing of coins for members, that are to appear in the Gobrecht Journal.
    I've used him several times, and the quality is excellent.
    Now as for the grading, I'll have to pass on an opinion there as I've had no experience with their slabs.

Ray
  • Options
    AskariAskari Posts: 3,713
    I know of Tom's work and it is indeed top-quality. Personally, I don't see the value of having a photo slabbed with the coin; I'd rather have it separate for insurance records.

The other principals appear to be well-known in the auction world, but I'm no habitué of that collecting venue so the names do no more than vaguely ring a bell for me.
    Askari

• Options
    shylockshylock Posts: 4,288 ✭✭✭
    Some additional info. Ron Guth, president of Coinfacts.com, writes the text on many of the slabs. There's a link to Global's website at the bottom of the page where quite a few sample slabs can be found.
  • Options
    Conder101Conder101 Posts: 10,536
    Although the press release is dated January 2002, the service actually began production slabbing in November of 2001 and distribution of samples in Sept 2001. I don't make judgements on grading ability, sorry.
  • Options
    AskariAskari Posts: 3,713