Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Grading help from you jeff collectors!

DHeathDHeath Posts: 8,472 ✭✭✭
This Jeff struck me as worthy of submission, and I thought I'd ask for a few expert opinions since I'm new to the series. Your opinions are welcome and helpful.image

73-P Jeff Obverse #1
73-P Jeff Reverse #1
73-P Steps #1

I have two of these and a 79-D that are all almost identical. Is this the right look and strike to collect?
Developing theory is what we are meant to do as academic researchers
and it sets us apart from practitioners and consultants. Gregor

Comments

• Options
    RGLRGL Posts: 3,784
    Overall, a decent coin ... one tick on the cheek (and perhaps the hair) on the obverse and a few light contact marks in the fields on the reverse and very nice full steps. An admirable circulation piece. A mint set coin?
  • Options
    Thanks RGL, and yes it is. I pulled it from a batch of 73 sets because it was relatively mark free. Boy the nickels seem to get beat up.
  • Options
    Don:

Nice coin. It is hard to tell from the scan how deep the nicks on the cheek and hair are? My guess MS65FS+. The PCGS pop report in MS65FS has 54 in grade with 32 in MS66Fs and 2 in MS67FS. A MS65FS maybe worth $15 - 20 while the MS66FS $30 - 40.

Hope this helps.
    (The Corso Collection) Always looking for high quality proof and full step Jeffersons - email me with details

My Jefferson Full Step Variety Set (1938 - Current)

My Jefferson Proof Variety Set (1938 - Current)
  • Options
    That's a great help, and thank you! I'm just starting the series, and will build raw until get proficient at grading them.
  • Options
    RGLRGL Posts: 3,784
    Don: I don't know if you follow Jeffs, but Frank is Mr. Jeff. I was sweating venturing an opinion fearing he might come along behind me and disagree! Put stock in his opinion on any Jeff. No. 1 in circ strikes and No. 2 in proofs!
  • Options
    leothelyonleothelyon Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi Don