Home PSA Set Registry Forum
Options

I'm a newbie with lots of questions. Help!

Hello folks,
I'm new here, and I sure like what I've been reading the past few weeks. There certainly is a lot of knowledge threading around here! That's very appealing to me 'cause I like to ask questions and enjoy super-seasoned collectors dissecting card collecting into the science that all things are really about........
details, facts, circumstances, etc.

My biggest fact-finding mission is to fully understand the psa grading, to where, like many of you, could realistically call the grade and have it be that grade. I know this can't be easy so my ears and eyes are wide open! I've been collecting since I rediscoved my '60's and '70's in 1983; but on a small time basis with some card shows thrown in in the late 80's and very early 90's. So without further ado....................

1) I have a very nice 1975 set that I feel would grade overall a super solid 7 or a maybe-sorta-solid 8. I have tried to be as critical as possible but still feel uncomfortable with the overall condition (they don't vary much at all in condition - a tight set). I haven't submitted any cards to date, as I think it would be financially best for me to keep 7's in a binder, but I'm tempted to register my set if I can pull off 8's. Nothing wrong with 7's, mind you, but if I decide to sell at some point, the 8's would be worth my while. I'm interested in your experiences with 1975's, and would be willing to send some sample cards (extra commons, etc.) for someone to unoffically "grade" for me. What I'm looking to do here is make an intellegent decision on what my 75's REALLY are. Any takers?????