Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Understanding Definition and Value of "Error Cards"

Hi all! I am new to this world of collecting sports cards. I stumbled upon a couple hundred My dad and I had as a kid (most of them aren't worth anything). I have seen a few old cards sell for a high price due to "Errors" in the card. I saw someone sell a 1988 Topps - #750 Bo Jackson with Errors on it for $3,500. I have the same card so I took a look at it and I do not see the difference between the two at all. Am I missing something or does the card I have also have these "errors"?

Any help is greatly appreciated! (Images attached below - the pictures with the hand is the "error" card that sold

Tagged:

Comments

• 82FootballWaxMemorys82FootballWaxMemorys Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭✭✭

asked for or confirmed sell for?

It's the singer not the song - Peter Townshend (1972)

• A lot of the so-called "errors" are print marks that add no value to the card. What people post for sale and at what price, means nothing. As mentioned above, you have to go to "sold listings" on eBay or 130point.

• It looks like a confirmed sale. It does not have a line through it at all. Thats what is confusing to me.

• @82FootballWaxMemorys said:
    asked for or confirmed sell for?

Apologies I didn't quote your question. See my above comment.

• RedHeart54RedHeart54 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭

Given the number of Bo Jackson collectors (and there are a lot) that card would be a “known” error if it was legit and would have had a history of sales at that level. Those are fake sales. The 1988 Bo Jackson Topps Bo Jackson is probably as subject to various print maladies as any card in that set. Unfortunately there are many ebayers who try to pass print defects off as RARE errors when they are anything but.

• olb31olb31 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭✭✭

AN error card is only worth anything if it's corrected and has a lower supply.

Work hard and you will succeed!!
  • bgrbgr Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭✭

https://www.ebay.com/itm/295927560459