Home World & Ancient Coins Forum

Cleaned or Not, 1889 Prussia Zwanzig Mark

This coin is very special to me, as it came from my great grandfather when he returned from ww2 (don’t ask me how he got his hands on gold from an obsolete monetary system, I don’t know). There were a couple German silver coins with it that are obviously cleaned, but I am not an expert on gold at all. To me it looks like it has never been cleaned, as I do see any parallel hairlines. I would like to see your opinions on whether it has been cleaned or not, and I took pictures with the light at multiple angles to show any hairlines. The first picture of the obverse and reverse respectively are the normal way that I would shoot the photo. Thanks in advance!

God bless all who believe in him. Do unto others what you expect to be done to you. Dubbed a "Committee Secret Agent" by @mr1931S on 7/23/24. Founding member of CU Anti-Troll League since 9/24/24.

Comments

• CRHer700CRHer700 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 7, 2024 7:52AM

Also my pictures make all the small hits stand out and are a bit overexposed. It also appears to be about an AU 55 or 58 to my eyes.

God bless all who believe in him. Do unto others what you expect to be done to you. Dubbed a "Committee Secret Agent" by @mr1931S on 7/23/24. Founding member of CU Anti-Troll League since 9/24/24.

• TypekatTypekat Posts: 354 ✭✭✭✭

A family heirloom, a sharp coin, lustre at the peripheries - super!

It’s hard to tell if it was cleaned anytime in 136 years - does it really matter?

30+ years coin shop experience (ret.) Coins, bullion, currency, scrap & interesting folks. Loved every minute!

@Typekat said:
    A family heirloom, a sharp coin, lustre at the peripheries - super!

It’s hard to tell if it was cleaned anytime in 136 years - does it really matter?