Home U.S. Coin Forum

1883 - CC Silver Dollar Question

Hello everyone,

I am new and trying to find information about the coin in the title above. I did try researching it through the Coinfacts app and asking on Reddit, google image search, google search, etc., but did not get any definitive answer. I got this as part of my grandad's collection, but he did not have things organized (most were just in bags of the plastic variety). As such, I am trying to get everything in order and properly labeled. I got a microscope to look at coins a bit closer before filing away, and this is where my question stems from. I noticed on the front that the first 8 is actually a bit fuzzy compared to the other numbers, and under the microscope it's easy to tell why. However, the back side of the coin is where things get even weirder. The coin, to the naked eye (as far as I can tell as a complete newbie) didn't seem to have a lot of tarnish, but under the microscope appears dark blue/navy all around the details except where it appears to be fading. Does anyone know if that means this is a variation to label or is it just some weird toning going on. It's just giving me pause, because while I've seen blue in toning before, it's almost always in much lighter streaks and accompanied by browns.

I figured people who have been doing this for years have a higher chance of coming across this and already knowing the answer. Apologies if this is the wrong place to ask this! If you know somewhere else it is more appropriate to, please point me to it!

Comments

• Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭✭✭

That's a good coin, a GSA CC dollar. As far as those go though, it's common for a GSA CC. There's no added value for the things you mentioned above the GSA value.

• ifthevamzarockinifthevamzarockin Posts: 8,766 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome to the forum! :)

Your coin appears to be a genuine CC dollar in a GSA holder. :)
    Silver coins will tone over time and it's nothing to worry about.