Home U.S. Coin Forum

Cherrypicker's Guide "Whitman Publishing" Buyer Beware! (Problem Solved!)

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,842 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited August 1, 2024 5:09AM in U.S. Coin Forum

It's not a show stopper and it's not the worst but I feel dumb and it gets under my skin! I preordered this back in May for $49.30, it was shipped yesterday and today I see it selling on eBay (FROM THE WHITMAN PUBLISHING COMPANY) for $39.95?!?!?! Whether it helps or not, I'll be jumping on someones desk at Whitman! Buyer beware!

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• CatbertCatbert Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think if you’re an ANA member you also get a 10% discount.

"Got a flaming heart, can't get my fill"
  • JBKJBK Posts: 15,419 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 31, 2024 6:43AM

Sounds like you got it at list/sticker price whereas the actual retail selling price is less.

I'd definitely send them the proverbial strongly worded letter and see what happens.

• MetroDMetroD Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Catbert said:
    I think if you’re an ANA member you also get a 10% discount.

Correct. Link

• CRHer700CRHer700 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 31, 2024 7:06AM

The 6th edition has been nothing but a pricing mess. The volume 1 books were selliing for over $300 because the refused to make any, but now they decide to make more.....after like a year.
    Here's a link to my thread on the subject.

God bless all who believe in him. Do unto others what you expect to be done to you. Dubbed a "Committee Secret Agent" by @mr1931S on 7/23/24. Founding member of CU Anti-Troll League since 9/24/24.

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,842 ✭✭✭✭✭

@JBK said:

I'd definitely send them the proverbial strongly worded letter and see what happens.

Done.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )