Home U.S. Coin Forum

Old time collector doesn't get it.

I've been collecting large size bust quarters for many years. Just bought an 1820 vg 10 graded by pcgs for 275.00 .Was looking at ebay and they were trying to sell 2 , 1 0unce future ..2024 bullion coins graded 7o for 300+ . The problem I have is that future collectors buying these things are going to get burned and have a negative view of the hobby. 2 ounces of silver and 2 pieces of plastic isn't worth 75.00 to me.

Comments

• EbeneezerEbeneezer Posts: 288 ✭✭✭

At $150 each, I'd say. As collectors we should always collect what we want, not to impress or for bragging rights. What does it for me are the fancy stickers that carry a hefty premium. I've always bought based on my eye appeal rather than that of another. Why the nessessity when they have a plus and star designation which means the same thing? Just my opinion.

• CregCreg Posts: 273 ✭✭✭
    edited July 14, 2024 5:42PM

Don’t fret, we’re not meant to get it.

• tincuptincup Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Bustquarterhound said:
    I've been collecting large size bust quarters for many years. Just bought an 1820 vg 10 graded by pcgs for 275.00 .Was looking at ebay and they were trying to sell 2 , 1 0unce future ..2024 bullion coins graded 7o for 300+ . The problem I have is that future collectors buying these things are going to get burned and have a negative view of the hobby. 2 ounces of silver and 2 pieces of plastic isn't worth 75.00 to me.

Similar thoughts that I have had. But.... guess we all collect what we like. There are many aspects to this hobby, and to each their own.

----- kj
  • jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 33,423 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 16, 2024 12:02AM

@Ebeneezer said: