Home Sports Talk

RIP Willie Mays

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭✭✭

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• LandrysFedoraLandrysFedora Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭✭✭

RIP

• stevekstevek Posts: 28,733 ✭✭✭✭✭

RIP

• GroceryRackPackGroceryRackPack Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 18, 2024 7:41PM

• perkdogperkdog Posts: 30,281 ✭✭✭✭✭

The Say Hey Kid, another slice of American Pie gone

• BrickBrick Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭✭✭

One of the greatest. RIP

Collecting 1960 Topps Baseball in PSA 8
    http://www.unisquare.com/store/brick/

Ralph

• BullsitterBullsitter Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭✭✭

RIP

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭✭✭

If there was a top five in the Baseball Hall of Fame, what would stop this guy from being #1?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• MaywoodMaywood Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭✭✭

@OAKSTAR said: If there was a top five in the Baseball Hall of Fame, what would stop this guy from being #1

Despite his accomplishments there are 20 players in the MLB HOF that received a higher percentage of votes for inclusion.

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,757 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Maywood said:
    @OAKSTAR said: If there was a top five in the Baseball Hall of Fame, what would stop this guy from being #1

Despite his accomplishments there are 20 players in the MLB HOF that received a higher percentage of votes for inclusion.

Okay, thanks! 👍

• GroceryRackPackGroceryRackPack Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭✭✭

• bgrbgr Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭✭

@Maywood said:

I guess that makes your top 5 easy.

1. Mariano
    2. Jeter
    3. Ken Griffey Jr.
    4. Tom Seaver
    5. Nolan Ryan

Is that correct?

I didn't even think to look at it that way. Wasn't Mays elected in '79? I would expect two factors to work against him there. I think a lot of people have Mays in their top-5 all-time greats... I certainly do.