Home U.S. Coin Forum

what happened to this 1926 peace dollar

TOMTJCTOMTJC Posts: 27 ✭✭✭

I bought this peace dollar in May of 2023 and it was untoned like the trueview photo. Now it has dark areas on the obverse and reverse. Any ideas what caused this to happen

Comments

• logger7logger7 Posts: 8,414 ✭✭✭✭✭

Toned/turned in the holder. Don't know whether it falls under PCGS' warranty.

• JBKJBK Posts: 15,277 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 5, 2024 11:03AM

The old girl didn't get all the suds off after her bath. :/

I guess that's one of the downsides to blast white (or almost BW) coins - you never know what might develop.

(Sorry RickO o:) ).

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭✭✭

You guys can tell by looking at it, that it was an old dip and not rinsed?

Could it have never been dipped and it's just old finger oil appearing over time?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• MFeldMFeld Posts: 13,045 ✭✭✭✭✭

@OAKSTAR said:

Could it have never been dipped and it's just old finger oil appearing over time?

Sometimes, yes and this looks like one of those times.

Mark Feld* of Heritage Auctions*Unless otherwise noted, my posts here represent my personal opinions.

• telephoto1telephoto1 Posts: 4,847 ✭✭✭✭✭

Classic improper dip rinse result.

RIP Mom- 1932-2012
  • OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭✭✭

@MFeld said:

@OAKSTAR said:

Sometimes, yes and this looks like one of those times.

Okay, so now we're talking....... Will breaking it out, re-dipping it or submitting for restoration fix it and bring it back to blast white?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• DelawareDoonsDelawareDoons Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 5, 2024 11:37AM