Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

How To Remove This (Whatever It Is) From A Coin

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭✭✭

A little help please.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• Options
    braddickbraddick Posts: 23,377 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would soak it in GooGone and follow that up with letting it sit in a squirt of WD40.

peacockcoins

• Options
    SapyxSapyx Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭✭✭

This would be glue of some kind, with the brownish-transparent stuff being the actual glue and the white stuff being remnants of whatever surface the coin was glued on to.

Epoxy glue - "superglue" - comes off nicely in acetone.

Waste no more time arguing what a good man should be. Be one.
    Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius, "Meditations"

Apparently I have been awarded one DPOTD. B)
  • Options
    Namvet69Namvet69 Posts: 8,743 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pure acetone is the way to go. Soak it for a while. Good luck.

BST: endeavor1967, synchr, kliao, Outhaul, Donttellthewife, U1Chicago, ajaan, mCarney1173, SurfinHi, MWallace, Sandman70gt, mustanggt, Pittstate03, Lazybones, Walkerguy21D, coinandcurrency242 , thebigeng, Collectorcoins, JimTyler, USMarine6, Elkevvo, Coll3ctor, Yorkshireman, CUKevin, ranshdow, CoinHunter4, bennybravo, Centsearcher, braddick, Windycity, ZoidMeister, mirabela, JJM, RichURich, Bullsitter, jmski52, LukeMarshall, coinsarefun, MichaelDixon

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,622 ✭✭✭✭✭

Acetone in a covered glass container since it evaporates quickly with frequent changes in the acetone. Or, you can just spend it since that cut on the obverse from a paper roll end crimper keeps it from being worth more than face value.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    KurisuKurisu Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭✭✭