Home U.S. Coin Forum

Coin cleaning help

What is the best way to clean an old penny without causing damage to the coin? 1906 Indian head penny.

Comments

• TomBTomB Posts: 21,110 ✭✭✭✭✭

Simple. Don't.

Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭✭✭

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,918 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Puppylovin said:
    What is the best way to clean an old penny without causing damage to the coin? 1906 Indian head penny.

Why does it need cleaning? Can we get a pic?

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.
    "Paper money eventually returns to its intrinsic value---zero."----Voltaire
    "Everything you say should be true, but not everything true should be said."----Voltaire

• PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,918 ✭✭✭✭✭

@coin22lover said:
    Never, ever clean a coin. Ever.

So, if a copper coin has active PVC, the PVC should not be cleaned off of the coin with a quick dip in acetone?

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.
    "Paper money eventually returns to its intrinsic value---zero."----Voltaire
    "Everything you say should be true, but not everything true should be said."----Voltaire

• JBKJBK Posts: 15,286 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think of PVC removal more as decontamination than cleaning.

In any case, I am pretty sure a new poster asking about "cleaning" wasn't referring to that. :)

• coin22lovercoin22lover Posts: 3,498 ✭✭✭

@JBK said:

In any case, I am pretty sure a new poster asking about "cleaning" wasn't referring to that. :)

Agreed - but I'd also add that you should be very careful on using acetone on circulated coins. You never know what you might uncover.

• BarberianBarberian Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭✭✭

@coin22lover said:

@JBK said: