Home U.S. Coin Forum

Is this a known error in the 1963 penny series?

I bought a few rolls of 1963 BU back in 2007. I forgot about them until recently and opened the last few rolls. This error coin, is very slim with beautiful markings on the reverse side. I'm still new to this coin-collecting hobby and am concerned that what I have is a fake. The other coins are remarkable for their age as well.

Tagged:

Best Answer

Answers

• CRHer700CRHer700 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very nice!

God Bless, CRHer700 :mrgreen:
    Do unto others what you expect to be done to you.
    Dubbed a "Committee Secret Agent" by @mr1931S on 7/23/24

• FrazFraz Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome. Lucky dog!

• GET OUT!

I bought the rolls on ebay. So I should send it in to be graded :) ?

• I have so many great-looking 1963. Are they common in the MS66,67 grades?

edited May 7, 2024 8:40AM

@christianpigeon said:
    I have so many great-looking 1963. Are they common in the MS66,67 grades?

Do they look like that one?

To a try to answer your question:
    No, it is not a known error as a doubled die would be classed.
    It’s what Mark called it.
    I do not know if there is a standard term for dramatic mint mutations.

PCGS CoinFacts helps.

• JBKJBK Posts: 15,256 ✭✭✭✭✭

Just to clarify, errors can happen to any coin at any time, so asking if there is a known error in this scenario is not really applicable.

But, it is a fantastic error. Value would determine whether or not to get it slabbed. I suspect it is worth it, but let's see what the experts say.

Does a trace of the 3 remain? That would affect the value.

• yspsalesyspsales Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭✭✭

I would slab it.

Cool coin that deserves preserving for a future collector.

BST: KindaNewish (3/21/21), WQuarterFreddie (3/30/21), Meltdown (4/6/21), DBSTrader2 (5/5/21) AKA- unclemonkey on Blow Out

• @Fraz said:
    Does a trace of the 3 remain? That would affect the value.

The 3 is there faintly. The L in liberty is completely gone.