Home Q & A Forum

Mystery Gold Coin Variety

Hi Folks,
I'm a newbie to this site, but I sure could use some help...I have a 1894 S/S $10 gold coin that was graded by ANACS as a E/F 45. Well, I tell you it's hard enough to find an 1894 S....but with the strong S/S re-punched mint mark is Impossible. I've been three weeks researching this one and Nothing. I'm just trying to help some folks out with an Estate who came across this coin and reached out to me for help. I told them I'd do the Best i can... This seems to be a Rare one....Can anyone give me some info on the value on this one ???...OR steer me in the right direction for someone who may know....Sure would appreciate it !

Comments

• Hi Folks,
    I'm a newbie to this site, but I sure could use some help...I have a 1894 S/S $10 gold coin that was graded by ANACS as a E/F 45. Well, I tell you it's hard enough to find an 1894 S....but with the strong S/S re-punched mint mark is Impossible. I've been three weeks researching this one and Nothing. I'm just trying to help some folks out with an Estate who came across this coin and reached out to me for help. I told them I'd do the Best i can... This seems to be a Rare one....Can anyone give me some info on the value on this one ???...OR steer me in the right direction for someone who may know....Sure would appreciate it !

• GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 30, 2024 3:08AM

Welcome to the forum
    Would like to see a clear photo of both sides of the coin to be able to help you.

• Hi Folks,

• I've added the pictures to the original post

• IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited April 30, 2024 8:16PM

Just checked the Heritage archive for 1894-S $10 listings. The S/S variety sells for the same price as the regular 1894-S and is normally not listed on the holder. It's not rare - I found several within a few minutes of searching.

• MorgyMorgy Posts: 9

Thank you for the reply....