Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

WW2 era medallions value (silver)

HankWHankW Posts: 5
edited April 6, 2024 7:55AM in World & Ancient Coins Forum

Looking for how to confirm these medallions are real and what they might be worth. Im almost positive they’re silver, between that and finding limited info online Im thinking they may have decent value. If anyone can help me it would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 857 ✭✭✭✭

They are not coins, they are some sort of medallions. I could not find any information on them.
    Also you have wrong reverse photos with the obverse.

• Options
    edited April 6, 2024 5:52AM

Thank you, Im new to this. Im almost positive they’re silver, not magnetic in any noticeable way. I stack silver, so I’m pretty familiar. I have found images online, but extremely limited info on an actual value. I acquired them through a trade for a 2019 Utah Goldback.

• Options
    SapyxSapyx Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭✭✭

They are both medals designed by famous German medallist Karl Goetz. I can't tell if they are originals, or more recent replicas.
    Rommel/Nord-Afrika: https://karlgoetz.com/ImageDetail.aspx?idImage=271
    Hermann Goring: https://karlgoetz.com/ImageDetail.aspx?idImage=269

Goetz does have somewhat of a following amongst militaria collectors; his medals from both WWI and WWII are quite propagandistic. I'd imagine they are also often copied by neo-Nazi groups.

Waste no more time arguing what a good man should be. Be one.
    Roman emperor Marcus Aurelius, "Meditations"

Apparently I have been awarded one DPOTD. B)
  • Options
    GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 857 ✭✭✭✭
    edited April 6, 2024 10:49AM

Comparing the photos provided by Sapyx with your photos, then they are replicas.
    Also the Goring medal is supposed to be in bronze.

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,799 ✭✭✭✭✭