Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

My first try at the crack out game!!

RLSnapperRLSnapper Posts: 524 ✭✭✭✭✭

I need a little numismatic excitement in my life so I found a candidate for the crack out game. Our contestant is this lovely 1958 Washington quarter. Beautifully toned it certainly seems worthy of at least its ANACS soapbox grade of MS67. PCGS has graded 452 in MS67, 49 in MS67+ and zero in MS68.
In MS67 it is a $50 coin. In 67+ it is a $500 coin. I imagine in 68 it would be a $5000 coin. I am into the coin for $89.50. I have never cracked a coin out but I figure the worst I can do is be out $100 when all is said and done. Certainly worth it for the entertainment value.
I would appreciate some feedback on the coin itself and any stories of crack out success or fails.

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,869 ✭✭✭✭✭

How exactly are you planning on breaking it out?

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    cheezhedcheezhed Posts: 5,690 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very low cost education tuition. Good luck!

Many happy BST transactions
  • Options
    goldengolden Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭✭✭

Let us know how it turns out.

• Options
    RobertScotLoverRobertScotLover Posts: 617 ✭✭✭✭

So you will end up being out $100, not life or death

• Options
    Cougar1978Cougar1978 Posts: 7,646 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited March 6, 2024 11:00PM

There is no free ride in numismatics.

Looks like it needs a dip. It’s an ugly tarnished coin.

Frankly looks like went bad in the holder.

Your blowing in the wind.

So Cali Area - Coins & Currency
  • Options
    mark_dakmark_dak Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'm no expert on the series but I honestly don't see a MS68 there... not even sure I see a MS67 through all the tarnish. Pictures do deceive though so I do wish you luck.

Mark

• Options
    jdimmickjdimmick Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭✭✭

ms-66 at best

• Options
    coinbufcoinbuf Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭✭