Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Advice Needed on Some Canadian coins Thank you

Good afternoon,
I am new to coins and only know enough to be dangerous. I have a few Canadian coins I am wondering if they are worth anything and what kind of grade they might be.
The first one is the 1936 10 cents.
a. I am certain that it is the “bar” variety but again I am just learning.
b. It looks like on Cents, Canada, and some of the leaves there is doubling. Is this doubling or is it machine doubling?
c. If it is doubling, I see no varieties online of the bar with doubling? How do I determine the value?
d. There is a lot of dirt, but it is my understanding I should not try and clean any coin?
e. Should I have it graded?

The second one is the 1895 one cent.

a. I can see that the 5 is lower and I see some discussions online about it, but I cannot find a value or even a population of these?
b. It is also very dirty.
c. Should I have it graded?

The third is the 1881 one cent H mint mark.

a. Is this doubling or machine doubling?
b. If it is doubling, how do I put a value on it?
c. Should I have it graded?

I appreciate any input on these, I hope no one gets tired of seeing my posts.

Comments

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,962 ✭✭✭✭✭

None of the coins you show are worth slabbing. I don't know the current value of Canadian coins but, based on my very old Krause catalog none appear to be scarce or rare.

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options
    bosoxbosox Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭✭

The 1881H cent is DDO. It looks cleaned and might be worth $30-40. These are a little scarce, but not rare.

Numismatic author & owner of the Uncommon Cents collections. 2011 Fred Bowman award winner, 2020 J. Douglas Ferguson award winner, & 2022 Paul Fiocca award winner.

http://www.victoriancent.com
  • Options

Thank you both. I am just learning and this helps. I have a lot of coins to go through

• Options
    sylsyl Posts: 909 ✭✭✭
    edited February 26, 2024 5:58PM