Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Post your early Walkers here 1916-1921 only

rnkmyer1rnkmyer1 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭✭✭

I think Walker Half Dollars are among the most impressive in all of US Numismatics. I wish I owned more of these.

“The thrill of the hunt never gets old”

PCGS Registry: Screaming Eagles
Copperindian

Retired sets: Soaring Eagles
Copperindian

Comments

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 5,866 ✭✭✭✭✭

@braddick said:
    Just a few wispy marks away from being a Superb GEM.

Ouch! It almost looks like recent damage or damage that happened years ago but wasn't put back into circulation. Seem like it still has a fare amount of detail for a 1917.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options
    BLUEJAYWAYBLUEJAYWAY Posts: 8,054 ✭✭✭✭✭

@jfriedm56 said:
    Bought in a dealer’s junk silver box for 3 bucks.

If I may inquire, how long ago was your fortunate purchase?

Successful transactions:Tookybandit. "Everyone is equal, some are more equal than others".
  • Options
    jfriedm56jfriedm56 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 11, 2023 5:40AM

@BLUEJAYWAY, this WLH was purchased in 2001, when silver was maybe $8.00 an ounce (?). Found a really great LCS that never screened their silver or other denomination coins for better dates. This particular coin was totally tarnished black, but figured I could dip it and this is the result after 20+ years. I stand corrected-silver was only $4.37 an ounce in 2001!

• Options
    CoinHoarderCoinHoarder Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭✭✭

I love Walkers! :)

• Options
    291fifth291fifth Posts: 23,949 ✭✭✭✭✭

@braddick said:
    Just a few wispy marks away from being a Superb GEM.

Run over by a Model T in a 1920's parking lot!

All glory is fleeting.
  • Options
    BarberianBarberian Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭✭✭

@Bigtree said:
    One of nine early (1916-1921) Walkers with a gold bean.