Home U.S. Coin Forum

Is the Barber coin series just using a super generic rendition of Lady Liberty?

pcgs69pcgs69 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭✭

I recently came across a sterling butter knife from circa 1864 and the image looked relatively close to the Barber coinage. Is it possible that Barber just used an existing image and lightly altered it for his coinage designs?

Comments

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,963 ✭✭✭✭✭

I don't know the history but I would say it's a lot closer then relatively! 👍🏻

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• pcgs69pcgs69 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭✭

Thank you for sharing! I had never seen this series before until this one passed in front of me. They are works of art. Do you have any others from this type?

@asheland said:
    Very cool, that’s Medallion by Gorham 1864, I have an example or two laying around…

There were a bunch of makers in the 1860s and 70s that use different types of medallion, it’s a great area to collect…

A few of mine:

• Manifest_DestinyManifest_Destiny Posts: 6,895 ✭✭✭✭✭

It was modeled after French coins which had the head of Ceres.

• Mr_SpudMr_Spud Posts: 5,236 ✭✭✭✭✭

Mr_Spud

• maymay Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭✭✭

That is a pretty cool piece you got there. :)

Type collector, mainly into Seated. -formerly Ownerofawheatiehorde. Good BST transactions with: mirabela, OKCC, MICHAELDIXON, Gerard

• jayPemjayPem Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭✭✭

Cool thread!
    The Barber portrait never really made sense to me... very manly and sort of seemed to come out of left field design wise.
    All these earlier incarnations tie it together a bit.
    Interesting that we had the Barber and the Walking library halves both modeled after French coins...🤔

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 33,766 ✭✭✭✭✭

@jayPem said:
    Cool thread!
    The Barber portrait never really made sense to me... very manly and sort of seemed to come out of left field design wise.