Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1922 Peace Dollar VAMs

Hello,
After my father-in-law passed away I went through a roll of BU 1922 Peace Dollars he had stashed away. A few of them have should spikes on the reverse upper left of eagle but one is a VAM-2R3.
All coins are BU. Does anyone know if it's worth getting the nicer ones graded and which companies will attribute a VAM? I know ANACS does but would rather use PCGS or NGC

Comments

• Options
    OwnerofawheatiehordeOwnerofawheatiehorde Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pictures of the whole coin are needed.

Type collector, mainly into Seated. Young Numismatist. Good BST transactions with: mirabela, OKCC, MICHAELDIXON

• Options
    OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,351 ✭✭✭✭✭

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

• Options

I apologize for the rookie mistake! I forgot how banged up they were. Now I'm not sure VAM-2R3. It has the shoulder spike and the clash, but I don't see the die gouges on the top pic of the vam site or on my coin.

This coin also has nick in the obverse collar.

• Options

Here are some random others with shoulder spike

• Options
    IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 8, 2023 9:35PM

@vgould191 said:
    Does anyone know if it's worth getting the nicer ones graded and which companies will attribute a VAM?

I don't see enough value in them to have them graded or attributed.

A VAM designation does not necessarily add any value, by the way. It's the rarer, sought after VAMs that have extra value - just a matter of supply and demand.

• Options
    PapiNEPapiNE Posts: 290 ✭✭✭