Home U.S. Coin Forum

My Best Verdigris Coin!

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭✭✭

Pulled it out of a roll today. I think it's a pretty good example. For your viewing pleasure. 😁

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• gumby1234gumby1234 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭✭✭

Verdigris happens on copper coins. Looks like a severe case of PVC you got there. Acetone could fix it.

Successful BST with ad4400, Kccoin, lablover, pointfivezero, koynekwest, jwitten, coin22lover, HalfDimeDude, erwindoc, jyzskowsi, COINS MAKE CENTS, AlanSki, BryceM

• OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,651 ✭✭✭✭✭

@gumby1234 said:
    Verdigris happens on copper coins. Looks like a severe case of PVC you got there. Acetone could fix it.

Really? Only copper? I didn't know that. When I see green, I was thinking Verdigris.

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Copper and brass.

Successful BST with ad4400, Kccoin, lablover, pointfivezero, koynekwest, jwitten, coin22lover, HalfDimeDude, erwindoc, jyzskowsi, COINS MAKE CENTS, AlanSki, BryceM

• DoubleEagle59DoubleEagle59 Posts: 8,270 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 6, 2023 6:42PM

Looks like a relic Jacques Cousteau would find from the depths of the Aegean.

"Gold is money, and nothing else" (JP Morgan, 1912)

"“Those who sacrifice liberty for security/safety deserve neither.“(Benjamin Franklin)

"I only golf on days that end in 'Y'" (DE59)

noun: verdigris

a bright bluish-green encrustation or patina formed on copper or brass by atmospheric oxidation, consisting of basic copper carbonate.

• TheGoonies1985TheGoonies1985 Posts: 5,344 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 6, 2023 6:05PM