Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Trade Dollars. Who's right: the Red Book or ChatGPT 4?

FredFFredF Posts: 526 ✭✭✭
edited October 29, 2023 4:56PM in U.S. Coin Forum

Was reading through the introduction in the 2024 Red Book, and saw the comment on how the Trade Dollar was demonetized, and then remonetized through the Coinage Act of 1965. Not really a Trade Dollar guy, so wasn't aware of this. I was curious what the Act did and why. The wikipedia pages for the Trade Dollar and the Coinage Act of 1965 were unhelpful. While a few assorted links on the web talked about remonetization in 1965, I didn't see details. So I fired up ChatGPT 4 (I have a subscription for work). Here is the conversation:

How did the coinage act of 1965 remonetize the Trade Dollar?

The Coinage Act of 1965 did not remonetize the Trade Dollar. Instead, the primary focus of the Coinage Act of 1965 was to eliminate silver from most U.S. coins due to rising silver prices. The Act led to the introduction of clad coinage (coins with a core and outer layer of different metals) and the removal of silver from dimes and quarters. It also reduced the silver content of half dollars to 40% (and later, half dollars would be produced with no silver at all).

The Trade Dollar was a silver coin minted primarily for trade with Asia in the late 19th century. It was demonetized in 1876 due to various reasons, including the coin being slightly heavier than other U.S. silver dollars and being misused in domestic trade.

It's worth noting that the Trade Dollar was later remonetized by the Coinage Act of 1967, not 1965. This was primarily a numismatic gesture, as by 1967, Trade Dollars had not circulated for nearly a century and were mainly of interest to collectors. The 1967 Act made all Trade Dollars held by the public legal tender at face value, but this was mostly symbolic given their scarcity and collector value.

(Fred says to himself: "Coinage Act of 1967?" Quick Google says there is no such thing.)