Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Understanding Definition and Value of "Error Cards"

Hello. I am new to this world of collecting sports cards. I have recently acquired a couple hundred thousand cards (NFL, NBA, NHL and MLB) and have been going through them and have found several "errors" which I have researched but have not found any matches as yet.
My question to the forum is two-fold if anyone has a few minutes to field: What defines and "error" card and how is value applied to the card. My inclination is to toss the card because it is an error, but I have found many error cards on the market with many being valuable.
A few examples:

• 1983 Topps Baseball card with the picture/name of one player on the front and a totally different player's stats and card # on the back.
  • 1990 ProSet Hockey card missing the card # on the back.
  • 1990 Score Hocket card with a different colored Score Logo on the front of the card where every other card of the same #/player is different. (Did this set have "parallel" cards?)
  • 1982 Topps baseball card with the player's autograph missing on the front of the card when the entire set is supposed to have autos.
  • Punctuation or mis-spellings on numerous cards.
  • Thank you in advance to anyone who has insight to the above.
Tagged:

Comments

• dontippetdontippet Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭✭

Please add some pics so we can give our opinions. Also, please make sure to be looking at ebay sale prices. There are many "error" cards listed for super high prices, but that doesn't mean they sell for that.

> [Click on this link to see my ebay listings.](https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_nkw=&_in_kw=1&_ex_kw=&_sacat=0&_udlo=&_udhi=&_ftrt=901&_ftrv=1&_sabdlo=&_sabdhi=&_samilow=&_samihi=&_sadis=15&_stpos=61611&_sargn=-1&saslc=1&_salic=1&_fss=1&_fsradio=&LH_SpecificSeller=1&_saslop=1&_sasl=mygirlsthree3&_sop=12&_dmd=1&_ipg=50&_fosrp=1)
    >