Home U.S. Coin Forum

76-CC Trade Dollar 1/1 - Die Marriage Discovery coin - for T$ super-fans

lermishlermish Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited September 25, 2023 5:56PM in U.S. Coin Forum

I won this coin last night for my chopmarked trade dollar variety set; I was very excited to add a very tough Obv 1 Rev 1 coin as it is a very tough variety. However, I am not an expert. I consulted with @OriginalDan and apparently there were only two known (EDIT: actually 3, see below) reverse dies for the type 1 76-CC; the DDR and the Wide CC. Hunting through CoinFacts I was able to find a matching reverse die on a 75-CC to confirm the authenticity and discovery. I'm pretty stoked about this addition (other than having to placate my wife once she finds out how far into nerd-dom I've descended)!

Here is the 76-CC:

Here is an example of the matching reverse die on the 75-CC:

I look forward to hearing from @alefzero and @keoj !

Comments

• PeakRaritiesPeakRarities Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭✭✭

Very cool! You're too far down the rabbit hole for me to be of any assistance, but I will watch with enthusiasm and cheer you on from the sidelines. :D

Founder- Peak Rarities
    Website
    Instagram
    Facebook

• kazkaz Posts: 9,137 ✭✭✭✭✭

cool find, I like the chops. I believe this is more scarce than the wide cc or the DDR. Here is mine ( old clean dip AU)

• lermishlermish Posts: 2,605 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited September 25, 2023 5:35PM

The only two previously known 76-CC type 1 reverses were the Doubled Die:

and the Wide CC:

EDIT: These are off of coinfacts, not my coins.

• IkesTIkesT Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭✭✭

@lermish Wow, really neat discovery - congratulations!

The only thing I can add is that there are actually 3 Type 1 reverse die marriages previously described by @alefzero - the C-1 and C-2, as shown in your images above, and the C-3, which @kaz posted an example of.

See:

http://registry.ssdcvams.com/Trade/1876-CC_Trade.html