Home Q & A Forum
Options

Why was I told this was not genuine on this forum?

collectormel7collectormel7 Posts: 98 ✭✭
edited August 20, 2023 7:04AM in Q & A Forum

No help

What garlic is to salad, insanity is to art. (Augustus Saint-Gaudens)

Comments

• Options
    edited August 20, 2023 7:04AM

No help

• Options
    lcutlerlcutler Posts: 508 ✭✭✭✭

Only the person who responded could tell you why they feel it is fake. I have no knowledge about this type of coin, but I would be shocked if this one is genuine. Just look at the differences in the details of yours and the link you posted. Yours has none of the crisp elaborate details of the other. There is no way yours was struck from the same dies. All coins struck from the same dies would have the same positioning of the letters, devices and ornamentation, but these two have a lot of differences.

• Options
    GreenstangGreenstang Posts: 846 ✭✭✭✭
    edited August 20, 2023 4:17AM

How do you know it is real?
    I would be very reluctant in saying it is genuine. Just compare the details of the face in yours
    with the genuine photo from Stack- Bowes.
    If you want to know for sure, send it of to be certified as genuine.

• Options

How many of these have you personally seen/handled?

• Options
    edited August 20, 2023 7:05AM

No help

• Options
    lcutlerlcutler Posts: 508 ✭✭✭✭

Good luck with your submission, let us know how it comes out!

• Options

Genuine examples? Probably half a dozen.

• Options

No help.

• Options

Better images are not going to alter the fact that the details in the face are different. It might enhance them though.
    As stated previously, if you believe it is genuine, then submit it for verification. If you were going to sell it, it should be verified anyways.

• Options
    edited August 20, 2023 7:43AM