Home U.S. Coin Forum

Share The Knowledge CRH'ing Stories

OAKSTAROAKSTAR Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭✭✭
edited December 22, 2023 8:57AM in U.S. Coin Forum

Many of us CRH'ers have had some of the same experiences. A couple of weeks ago, a teller mentioned that there's a guy that comes in on a regular basis looking for coins and rolls the some way I do. She said; You guys would have a lot in common. I left her my name a number and asked her to pass it to him the next time he comes in.

So the guy calls me last week. We met at a local McDonald's. We sat there and talked for almost 4 hours!! We comparing notes, locations, talked about what we were looking for, what we have found, ideas, opinions and suggestions. I gave him some of my secrets and he gave me some of his. Two complete strangers, hitting it off over coins!!....much like all of us!

Disclaimer: I'm not a dealer, trader, grader, investor or professional numismatist. I'm just a hobbyist. (To protect me but mostly you! 🤣 )

Comments

• WQuarterFreddieWQuarterFreddie Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited July 31, 2023 6:05AM

@jmlanzaf said:
    But now you've tipped of the competition to all your tricks...

Maybe but in my opinion it is better to share the passion and knowledge of the hobby with our fellow colleagues.

I agree with Oakstar that this was a positive meeting.

However, there should be an exchange of information and mutual respect by both parties not just one way.😉

• jmlanzafjmlanzaf Posts: 33,487 ✭✭✭✭✭

@OAKSTAR said:

@jmlanzaf said:

Well, I see your point but that's never really concerned me. I've never felt threatened by giving up some of my tricks or secrets. I've always believed in sharing the information and knowledge. Especially, when someone show a real interest in the hobby. Many numismatic experts here have shared their knowledge over the years and I've certainly benefited from that.