Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

1952 Bowman Mickey Mantle - Fake?

I recently obtained this card that came from an estate sale. The question I have is how do I semi-check to make sure this is not a fake? I researched this card for days and cannot see anything that looks familiar. If this is a fake, why would someone make it this bad? Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• mintonlyplsmintonlypls Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 18, 2023 7:21AM

My gut thinks it’s real…given the aging appearance. JMHO

I would have PSA grade it…probably would grade PSA authentic or PSA-1. If so…nice pickup.

mint_only_pls
  • burghmanburghman Posts: 923 ✭✭✭✭

I agree with jfkheat… I have no experience with the card or year, but someone in this forum years ago pointed out that corners never wear evenly. That and the fact that they are almost perfectly rounded has me leaning towards it being a fake.

Jim

• PNWcollectorPNWcollector Posts: 311 ✭✭✭✭

This is fake. Symmetrical corner rounding and uniform surface and edge wear/discoloration are the give aways.

• BliggityBliggity Posts: 200 ✭✭✭

100% fake, not even close. Artificial aging, wrong cardstock, bad colors, artificial corner wear, etc.

• @chas707 said:
    I recently obtained this card that came from an estate sale. The question I have is how do I semi-check to make sure this is not a fake? I researched this card for days and cannot see anything that looks familiar. If this is a fake, why would someone make it this bad? Any help would be appreciated.

thanks for all the comments and I understand them. My question is why would someone fake a card this bad as well as I searched and searched and could not find one like this. tks, I'll just hang on to it for now

• also, i did find this one on ebay rounded corners and centered?

• mintonlyplsmintonlypls Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 19, 2023 3:28PM

I would send it to PSA…

mint_only_pls
  • swish54swish54 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭✭