Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

ANA Dues Increase

13»

Comments

• Options
    erscoloerscolo Posts: 518 ✭✭✭✭✭

Waiting many years and then passing on a hefty increase is seldom, if ever, a good idea. Smaller increases closer together inflicts less pain and therefore less complaints. I have been collecting on and off since the 1970s, and given what I enjoy collecting, grading submissions and / or memberships are low on the priority list. The decision is a personal one, bashing one way or another serves no productive purpose.

• Options
    NJCoinNJCoin Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited June 5, 2023 3:19PM

@erscolo said:
    Waiting many years and then passing on a hefty increase is seldom, if ever, a good idea. Smaller increases closer together inflicts less pain and therefore less complaints. I have been collecting on and off since the 1970s, and given what I enjoy collecting, grading submissions and / or memberships are low on the priority list. The decision is a personal one, bashing one way or another serves no productive purpose.

Correct. Not bashing, simply, as someone who cares about the future of the hobby and the organization, opining. It's not just about calibrating increases. It's also about making sure the price aligns with the perceived value, in order to push membership higher up more collectors' priority lists.

With respect to the raising of the age for a discount on the lifetime membership, I am indeed guilty of bashing, albeit with the productive purpose of hopefully inducing the brain trust to revisit that decision.

• Options
    goldengolden Posts: 9,090 ✭✭✭✭✭

I joined the ANA in the Spring of 1969. They were going to increase the Life Member rate at the beginning of 1972. I converted to a Life Member in December of 1971 for $150.

• Options
    daltexdaltex Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭✭✭

Which brings up the question, when was the last time the ANA raised dues?

• Options
    2ndCharter2ndCharter Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭✭✭