Home U.S. & World Currency Forum
Options

PCGS "Details"

I'm a long-time coin collector, and I'm just getting into currency collecting.

I am looking at a bank note right now that has a PCGS Banknote "Details" grade. I know that "Details" is pretty deadly to the value of a coin unless it's very old or very rare. Is the same true for currency? The note is rare (2 in existence) and has a few pulls and scuffs. I like it, but I don't want an albatross.

I'd appreciate your opinions.

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    sellitstoresellitstore Posts: 2,482 ✭✭✭✭✭

I agree with Steve.
    Also, a details grade with two known begs the question "What is the problem with it?" and that fact should have more influence on your decision to buy than what the TPG says, really. As long as the problem doesn't make you wince when you see it, I'd buy it.
    "Details" is more of a problem when undamaged examples are available and the collector has a choice. Two known=no choice.

Collector and dealer in obsolete currency. Always buying all obsolete bank notes and scrip.
  • Options
    jeffas1974jeffas1974 Posts: 310 ✭✭✭

Welcome to currency collecting! I still feel like I'm fairly new myself and have a lot to learn.

I agree with Steve on purchasing the note. A recent example of something similar that comes to mind is the Fr. 4 that was up for auction last week. It was a 12 grade with a notation on the back of "minor repairs", but there are just 8 known and it's hard to be choosy. Out of curiosity, would you mind disclosing what the note is?

• Options

Thanks, folks! I'm still kind of on the fence about buying the bank note, but I won't be worrying about the "Details" label now.

FYI, I inherited a national bank note for a bank in my hometown several years ago, and, well, naturally I had to acquire notes for all the banks in the area. I have the 1929 series notes for them, but I'm looking to add some 1902 and 1882 notes as well.