Home U.S. & World Currency Forum
Options

Completely new to paper currency, question about 2 x US Jefferson STAR $2.00 Bills, 1953C and 1976.

I am brand new to paper currency. I have looked into these two $2.00 bills. 1) Jefferson, 1976, STAR, Green Seal, low number?, uncirculated, $2 bill. 2) Jefferson, 1953A, STAR, Red Seal, uncirculated, $2 bill. I have found that these are possibly a high grade due to their condition, but am not certain due to being such a complete newbie. The 1976 is not too valuable is seems regardless, unless the addition of the star and a possible "low" serial number may change that. The 1953A also seems to have a high grade, but is still not too valuable either. But, I could easily be wrong in all ways. I would love feed back on the grades, and/or other research you think I should conduct into these, thank you all, Greg.

Comments

• Options
    Steve_in_TampaSteve_in_Tampa Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭✭✭

If you’re going to own a 1976 $2 replacement note, having a Minneapolis (I), Kansas City (J) or Richmond (E*) would be the ones to have. The 1953A $2 replacement note is older but less valuable than the 1976 $2 replacement note. The BEP printed 640,000 of the above mentioned 1976 $2 star notes and 720,000 of the 1953A $2 star notes. As far as determining condition from photos, using side lighting gives you the best chance to detect folds and handling marks.

• Options
    Namvet69Namvet69 Posts: 8,686 ✭✭✭✭✭

Great pro tip, also check those corners for frayed edges. Good luck. Peace Roy

BST: endeavor1967, synchr, kliao, Outhaul, Donttellthewife, U1Chicago, ajaan, mCarney1173, SurfinHi, MWallace, Sandman70gt, mustanggt, Pittstate03, Lazybones, Walkerguy21D, coinandcurrency242 , thebigeng, Collectorcoins, JimTyler, USMarine6, Elkevvo, Coll3ctor, Yorkshireman, CUKevin, ranshdow, CoinHunter4, bennybravo, Centsearcher, braddick, Windycity, ZoidMeister, mirabela, JJM, RichURich, Bullsitter, jmski52, LukeMarshall

• Options