Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Thinking about bulk purchasing HOF collection

WillymacWillymac Posts: 204 ✭✭✭
edited December 20, 2022 8:02PM in Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Question - what’s a fair price to purchase a lot, I mean a lot, of cards (several thousands) - yes a lot of 80’s 90’s 2000’s and other years mixed in - but here’s the catch - it’s ONLY hall of famers, in binders top loaders etc - all sports…lots of inserts, typically anywhere from a few to a few dozen rc’s of each (for the sake of this let’s dismiss those rookies and just say non rookie cards but all HOF’s)….very well organized and very well cared for - like a lifetime of work type thing

Many gradable cards (lots of base but lots of inserts/parallels - no pmg’s etc type)

Thoughts?

I know we can get weedy here, just assume I have been collecting for 30 years and this was very impressive despite being “junk wax era” - like instant collection for nearly every hall of famer (baseball basketball football - from that era with rookies in 80’s and 90’s early 2000’s i would say….

What are folks thinking per card is a fair/smart purchase price?

Comments

• Options

If folks say commons are .05 or .1 each - what would HOFers be?

• Options
    JoeBanzaiJoeBanzai Posts: 11,241 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 20, 2022 8:47PM

From the little information you are providing......... I would pass.
    Very few people are collecting non rookie cards of HOFers from this period, especially raw cards.
    I have thousands of HOFer cards from this era that I saved. People don't pay much for most players unless graded a 10, so unless your willing to gamble on getting a 10, you are going to be spending a lot of money on grading fees. Anything that comes back an 8 or lower is worthless, some 9's you might break even on (but not many) and SOME of the more popular players in a 10 will be money makers.