Home Q & A Forum
Options

A newbie, looking for opinions on a series of coins

Hello, I am a numismatic newbie, a true neophyte. I have been working on, for me - a large collection of coins from three different people. I have been learning, and learning, and learning from PCGS videos, other forum discussions, VAM World discussions, and have done my best using Photograde, etc... I have weeded out most of the coins as being nothing important. However, I am looking for opinions on the following coins as to you opinions on grading (which I have found to change a LOT downward in my neophyte attempts at grading, when I when I photograph them. I have used 5X, 10X, 17.5X and 30X loops, but when I see these coins in the photographs from 2.2 - about 3.5X, I see a lot more issues, and need for downgrading. I was very surprised at this effect. Anyway, as I take these photos I will post them for both constructive positive and negative criticism. I will start with three pennies, that were found in two of the coin accumulation books. I have no expectation that I am any good at this yet, or may ever been like any of you, but I am damn well trying very hard to understand and figure things out so I have some clue. My goal is to protect the clients, and then help them sell their collection for the most possible realistically. To make things simple, I have a 25 year background dealing with art, antiques and antiquities, and have been credential though the International Society of Appraisers (ISA), and specialize in fine Asian and Western art, antiques and antiquities, and understand the complexities of entering into a new area, in this case numismatics. So far in the first two posts I have done, I have replied to every comment I have been given. Thank you everyone for your input, Greg.

Comments

• Options